Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: suggestions of textures  (Read 1791 times)
seven
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 58


« on: March 04, 2012, 09:30:59 pm »

suggestions of textures
Logged
seven
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 58


« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2012, 09:33:46 pm »

space_panel_alt.jpg
in textures\base_wall2\
new and old
the new and old are not seamless. Old version are not seamless. I don't know why?. Last row has 8 pixel less. Someone knows why?
« Last Edit: March 04, 2012, 10:01:50 pm by seven » Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 14
Posts: 13935



WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2012, 09:34:30 pm »

Not acceptable quality.
Logged
seven
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 58


« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2012, 09:35:58 pm »

textures\base_wall2\space_panel_alt2.jpg
 old and new version
« Last Edit: March 04, 2012, 09:47:26 pm by seven » Logged
seven
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 58


« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2012, 09:38:52 pm »

textures\base_ceiling\metceil1d.jpg

new and old version
« Last Edit: March 04, 2012, 09:50:40 pm by seven » Logged
seven
Half-Nub


Cakes 1
Posts: 58


« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2012, 09:44:25 pm »

Not acceptable quality.
it is a version from open arena, It is on list to do textures. Textures from OA has not "new" in name.
Logged
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 45
Posts: 3219


WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2012, 02:08:01 am »

A question: it is reported here that
Quote
The art direction of Open Arena is about "double" as Quake III Arena:
quadruple texture resolution, i.e. 512x512 as opposed to a 256x256
...
But is that to be followed only when creating new (OpenArena-specific) textures, or also when creating textures for Q3 compatibility?
http://openarena.wikia.com/wiki/List_of_missing_textures
http://openarena.wikia.com/wiki/List_of_missing_textures_and_shaders_of_Q3_and_TA_maps
I mean, if an old map uses a certain Q3 texture with a certain scale (and a certain offset), and we re-create a texture with the same name and similar colors/shapes (e.g. the border of a door?), but different resolution... will it fit correctly or will it appear out-of-scale or de-centered? Q3 compatibility textures should keep the same resolution as the originals?
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offending or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
grey matter
Member


Cakes 7
Posts: 332

>9k


« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2012, 11:12:10 am »

I mean, if an old map uses a certain Q3 texture with a certain scale (and a certain offset), and we re-create a texture with the same name and similar colors/shapes (e.g. the border of a door?), but different resolution... will it fit correctly or will it appear out-of-scale or de-centered? Q3 compatibility textures should keep the same resolution as the originals?

It shouldn't matter, otherwise all the Quake 3 compatible HD texture packs would not work properly (at least I never had any texture problems with those).
Logged

This space is for rent.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: