Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9
  Print  
Author Topic: some suggestions for openarena  (Read 130643 times)
Airwolf
Nub


Cakes 3
Posts: 15



« Reply #175 on: December 02, 2009, 11:46:56 am »

3) fullscreen console (that 0.5 float could just be put on a cvar)

I also would love this, a console height cvar which I would definitively set to 1 rather than 0.5
Logged
Falkland
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 590


« Reply #176 on: December 02, 2009, 12:05:30 pm »

Another solution for colorized and transparent console is available also on the current SG1.1 beta version : http://smokinguns.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/smokinguns?view=rev&revision=405
Logged
Falkland
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 590


« Reply #177 on: December 02, 2009, 09:20:21 pm »

Applied the con_height patch coming from dfengine and the color/transparency patch coming from SG ...

This patch introduces 6 new cvars :

- con_height -> its value can be between 0.1 and 1.0 ( 1.0 for full screen console )
- cl_consoleType : 2 for new console color/transparency behaviour , old console with every other value
- cl_consoleColorAlpha ( transparency )
- cl_consoleColorRed
- cl_consoleColorGreen
- cl_consoleColorBlue

here's a sample screenshot ( with the reported values to obtain the same effect ;-) ) :



and the patch : http://www.filefront.com/15048147/new_console.patch/

Credits for this go to the dfengine team ( Marky ) and to the Sg dev team ( tequila )
Logged
chaoticsoldier
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 375


This space intentionally left blank.


« Reply #178 on: December 02, 2009, 09:34:47 pm »

2) CTF mode where 1 match has 2 rounds and where sides are switched (for asymetric maps)

I'm also a fan of this idea. I think this mode has lots of potential, and a whole new series of asymmetric maps could be made especially for it.
Logged

0101100101101111011101010010011101110110011001010010000001101010011101010111001101110100001000000111011101100001011100110111010001100101011001000010000001111001011011110111010101110010001000000111010001101001011011010110010100101110
Airwolf
Nub


Cakes 3
Posts: 15



« Reply #179 on: December 02, 2009, 11:19:30 pm »

That actually looks pretty darn awesome Falkland!
Logged
Udi
Member


Cakes 25
Posts: 536


i do my own stunts


WWW
« Reply #180 on: December 20, 2009, 11:21:10 am »

Is it possible that if a model fails to load (doesn't exist), than it would fall back to its simple item 2D pair? Like there's no grapple hook model, so it's only visible if cg_simpleitems is on, but it is functional and could be used more. It is a QVM problem or rather an engine problem and should I ask the ioquake3 guys?
Logged

http://udionline.hu/en/projektek/openarena/
Todo list: 1. q3dm17 textures replacement (95% done)
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 32
Posts: 14499



WWW
« Reply #181 on: December 20, 2009, 11:27:42 am »

It is a QVM problem or rather an engine problem and should I ask the ioquake3 guys?

No, it's a 'fromhell is a lazy artist' problem. Grappling Hook was never an officially finished weapon in Q3 either (infact, its model is just the also-unfinished q3 flamethrower without napalm tanks)

To finish up the hookk i'll need:

- a hook model
- a hook shader (for the beam)
- a harmless looking gun that DOES NOT LOOK LIKE IT HAS A HOOK on it

Personally my favorite kind of grappling hook i've seen is the harpoon gun from the original Pain Keep. That gun can catch items, hook to opponents, hook around corners, and made some very cool noises.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
Udi
Member


Cakes 25
Posts: 536


i do my own stunts


WWW
« Reply #182 on: December 23, 2009, 08:11:00 am »

No, it's a 'fromhell is a lazy artist' problem.

Hmm, okay, but I thought it's easier to code than to model. The TMNT mod you linked has that feature, or at least on the test map some weapons have models some just pictures.
Logged

http://udionline.hu/en/projektek/openarena/
Todo list: 1. q3dm17 textures replacement (95% done)
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3751


Trickster God.


« Reply #183 on: December 23, 2009, 08:22:13 am »

Also unfinished (code, 2D & model-wise; in TA is just the effect and the unfinished code) is the Portal holdable from Team Arena.
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
davidd
Half-Nub


Cakes 6
Posts: 99


[Z] server maintainer


« Reply #184 on: December 31, 2009, 05:38:30 am »

2 features i saw in quake 4,

1 small
teleporters teleport rockets and grenades the same way they teleport humans
1 big
zoom put in netcode, that way stored in demo's and visible by spectators
Logged

Openarena, the freedom to contribute and extend.
Falkland
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 590


« Reply #185 on: January 03, 2010, 07:51:22 pm »

I've found a commit in the SG svn tree about an interesting change in G_KillBox()

Quote
Change G_KillBox() behavior so we can support more and more client spawn at the same time even if we don't have enough respawning points

http://smokinguns.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/smokinguns?view=rev&revision=326

This should solve the telefrags at spawn problem independently of the spawn function and/or the numbers of spawnpoints of a map.
Logged
DaywalkeR
Nub


Cakes 0
Posts: 16


« Reply #186 on: January 07, 2010, 09:42:23 am »

I would put the new openarena 2d logo instead of the moving openarena font when you start openarena, you can see it on top of falklands picture.

IMHO it would look better cause the moving logo dont look so good.
Logged
Proti
Nub


Cakes -21
Posts: 16


HAHAHA I BLANKED MY POSTS. TAKE THAT INTERNET


« Reply #187 on: January 07, 2010, 12:11:53 pm »

---PEACEFULLY CENSORED---
« Last Edit: April 09, 2011, 04:48:33 pm by Proti » Logged

THERE WAS A REFERRAL LINK HERE.
Falkland
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 590


« Reply #188 on: January 07, 2010, 01:39:26 pm »


/cg_forceEnemyModel


The problem is that nor cg_forceModel , nor the eventual introduction of cg_enemyModel actually could solve the hitbox issue : as now the hitbox is an irregular cube and it's dimension is not constant but strictly model-size dependent.

Old q3 players know that : they almost use Keel and cg_forcemodel because they will have a larger enemy's hitbox and it will permit them to increase their hits-rate over other players even if those ones are using slim models like xaero or razor. The same effect could be obtained in OA by using S_Marine and cg_forcemodel.

The hitbox geometry was changed in QL with an update in december for the same reason : QL now uses a cylindric hitbox ; it has still a variable dimension but the "model dependant hit effect" has significantly reduced because the hitboxes are smaller and don't have rough edges ( typical of a regular/irregular cube ) anymore.
Logged
Udi
Member


Cakes 25
Posts: 536


i do my own stunts


WWW
« Reply #189 on: January 07, 2010, 03:26:22 pm »

The hitbox geometry was changed in QL with an update in december for the same reason : QL now uses a cylindric hitbox

Falkland, could the cylindric hitbox be implemented in QVM? If yes, than could you make a mod for OA with all the current QL weapon damages and the new hitbox, and any other changes which you find worth to add? A separate mod like Defrag or Freeztag can make the server setup easier and some QL mode servers could spice up the community. Maybe one day all that stuff could be added to main OA.
Logged

http://udionline.hu/en/projektek/openarena/
Todo list: 1. q3dm17 textures replacement (95% done)
andrewj
Member


Cakes 24
Posts: 576



« Reply #190 on: January 08, 2010, 12:39:08 am »

Old q3 players know that : they almost use Keel and cg_forcemodel because they will have a larger enemy's hitbox and it will permit them to increase their hits-rate over other players even if those ones are using slim models like xaero or razor. The same effect could be obtained in OA by using S_Marine and cg_forcemodel.
This is complete and utter rubbish, all players are the same size for physics calculations (hitscans etc) and the model used has no effect except what is drawn on the screen.
Logged
Graion Dilach
Member


Cakes 12
Posts: 403



« Reply #191 on: January 08, 2010, 05:25:04 am »

Well, I don't think so. I have a custom Snoopy model somewhere in the HDD which has roughly 1/3 height of the average. And it's a complete pain to play against.

But I'll do some tests with it. If Falkland's correct than this is the perfect way to find it out.

EDIT: Tested. I think Andrewj was correct.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2010, 07:17:28 am by Graion Dilach » Logged

One shall remind what have he left behind... to actually realize that it's still cool.
Bane
Member


Cakes 5
Posts: 225



« Reply #192 on: January 08, 2010, 09:36:25 am »

Some suggestions for OpenArena ?

Definitely - new commands -

/cg_forceEnemyModel

/dropflag

/dropweapon

Otherwise, i agree with DaywalkeR with all of his posts he made till now.

This post got me thinking what about a drop items command. I think this would be useful if you raided the other team's base and picked up things like armor or a power up and decide to bring it back to your base for your flag carrier.

Also I noticed in quake live they have an items timer and think that this might be a good think to have in OA
Logged
Proti
Nub


Cakes -21
Posts: 16


HAHAHA I BLANKED MY POSTS. TAKE THAT INTERNET


« Reply #193 on: January 08, 2010, 09:52:15 am »

---PEACEFULLY CENSORED---
« Last Edit: April 09, 2011, 04:49:23 pm by Proti » Logged

THERE WAS A REFERRAL LINK HERE.
pulchr
Member


Cakes 34
Posts: 626



WWW
« Reply #194 on: January 08, 2010, 05:06:02 pm »

Old q3 players know that : they almost use Keel and cg_forcemodel because they will have a larger enemy's hitbox and it will permit them to increase their hits-rate over other players even if those ones are using slim models like xaero or razor. The same effect could be obtained in OA by using S_Marine and cg_forcemodel.
This is complete and utter rubbish, all players are the same size for physics calculations (hitscans etc) and the model used has no effect except what is drawn on the screen.

the hitbox is the same size - but the model is clearly easier to see if it's big. so, if the model is bigger it's easier to see and the shots will hit, if you don't see it you can't hit even if the hitbox is the same size... i hate playing against tony for example, that's why i always force enemy models.
Logged
chaoticsoldier
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 375


This space intentionally left blank.


« Reply #195 on: January 09, 2010, 01:24:20 am »

Also I noticed in quake live they have an items timer and think that this might be a good think to have in OA
What about doing simple maths in your head? Wink

the hitbox is the same size - but the model is clearly easier to see if it's big. so, if the model is bigger it's easier to see and the shots will hit, if you don't see it you can't hit even if the hitbox is the same size... i hate playing against tony for example, that's why i always force enemy models.
It reminds me of multiplayer mode in GoldenEye 007 on the Nintendo 64 where everyone played as Oddjob. Cheesy
Logged

0101100101101111011101010010011101110110011001010010000001101010011101010111001101110100001000000111011101100001011100110111010001100101011001000010000001111001011011110111010101110010001000000111010001101001011011010110010100101110
Udi
Member


Cakes 25
Posts: 536


i do my own stunts


WWW
« Reply #196 on: January 09, 2010, 09:00:53 am »

This post got me thinking what about a drop items command. I think this would be useful if you raided the other team's base and picked up things like armor or a power up and decide to bring it back to your base for your flag carrier.

In TeamArena you cannot pick up the runes on the enemy base, and that's a fair thing. The same issue arises whit your suggestion. It's not an mmorpg, so you shouldn't be able to "farm" for your team Smiley. The other issue is, how you calculate the dropped items, like you take the megahealth, but you lose some hp, what are you going to drop, 50 health, 25 health or a megahealth? Same with armors. Weapons are tricky too, if you pick up a dropped gun, the full ammo always gets added to your previous ammo, while if you have full ammo and take a spawned weapon you only get one. Besides it's not Counter Strike where you need money to get a weapon, just wait a few seconds and suit yourself. The only reasonable drop command would be drop the flag, but if you're on low health rocket yourself and there you go. These kind of plus commands just make the game complicated and you will run out of binds. The KISS principle should be preserved for the default OA.
Logged

http://udionline.hu/en/projektek/openarena/
Todo list: 1. q3dm17 textures replacement (95% done)
Bane
Member


Cakes 5
Posts: 225



« Reply #197 on: January 09, 2010, 10:48:02 am »



In TeamArena you cannot pick up the runes on the enemy base, and that's a fair thing. The same issue arises whit your suggestion. It's not an mmorpg, so you shouldn't be able to "farm" for your team Smiley. The other issue is, how you calculate the dropped items, like you take the megahealth, but you lose some hp, what are you going to drop, 50 health, 25 health or a megahealth? Same with armors. Weapons are tricky too, if you pick up a dropped gun, the full ammo always gets added to your previous ammo, while if you have full ammo and take a spawned weapon you only get one. Besides it's not Counter Strike where you need money to get a weapon, just wait a few seconds and suit yourself. The only reasonable drop command would be drop the flag, but if you're on low health rocket yourself and there you go. These kind of plus commands just make the game complicated and you will run out of binds. The KISS principle should be preserved for the default OA.
[/quote]

Ok Udi I get what your saying now I myself never played team arena. I usually only play FFA or CTF becuase it is hard to find others people to play with on certain mods. Also chaoticsoldier what is the items timing it's been a while since i have played games like this.
Logged
Proti
Nub


Cakes -21
Posts: 16


HAHAHA I BLANKED MY POSTS. TAKE THAT INTERNET


« Reply #198 on: January 09, 2010, 11:28:20 am »

---PEACEFULLY CENSORED---
« Last Edit: April 09, 2011, 04:49:59 pm by Proti » Logged

THERE WAS A REFERRAL LINK HERE.
Udi
Member


Cakes 25
Posts: 536


i do my own stunts


WWW
« Reply #199 on: January 09, 2010, 12:10:31 pm »

The drop commands are highly needed for much more improved team cooperation. The dropweapon command is mostly useful in TDM gametype, i would say, its directly depending on that command. To say, that only one reasonable cmd is dropflag deposing you have never played TDM

You are right about my TDM experience, and now it actually makes sense, so point taken.

And you run out of bound keys ? heh, how many keys have you bound seriously ? Try to use TeamSpeak or whatever communicator and you dont need to have so many bindings.

Right know I have 20 binds, ironically one for Mumble too Smiley. Of course I have a lot of keys left, but nothing close to the movement keys.
Logged

http://udionline.hu/en/projektek/openarena/
Todo list: 1. q3dm17 textures replacement (95% done)
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9
  Print  
 
Jump to: