Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 9
  Print  
Author Topic: some suggestions for openarena  (Read 106035 times)
Udi
Member


Cakes 25
Posts: 536


i do my own stunts


WWW
« Reply #75 on: June 24, 2009, 05:28:56 pm »

I've redone the charset to get it a bit sharper. Its just a test at the moment, but i think openarena could look a bit better with that.
What do you think?

Looks great, but what if you would make a more unique styled charset which would resemble the new OA logo seen on the site prototype? It would be a really hard push towards a new UI design Smiley.
Logged

http://udionline.hu/en/projektek/openarena/
Todo list: 1. q3dm17 textures replacement (95% done)
schlorri
i lurk the board index every minute!!!!
Lesser Nub


Cakes -51
Posts: 149


WWW
« Reply #76 on: June 24, 2009, 05:46:25 pm »

Hmmm, damn... i dont know what to do. But thanks for you comment, ill think about it!

I have one idea: Perhaps you could create a littlechars.tga file, with a smaller font just for the console text and orange menu text (the text can't be larger than what the console will use). You could then specify where littlechars.tga will be used and where bigchars.tga will be used?

I've done that, but u must implement a lot of Functions twice then Sad, ill try and try and try Smiley

I've redone the charset to get it a bit sharper. Its just a test at the moment, but i think openarena could look a bit better with that.
What do you think?

Looks great, but what if you would make a more unique styled charset which would resemble the new OA logo seen on the site prototype? It would be a really hard push towards a new UI design Smiley.

You mean this one? It looks really cool in the menu(no screens here) but in my opinion ingame it looks not so nice.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2009, 03:51:19 am by schlorri » Logged

-Join #aftershock in quakenet
-Visit the statspage http://oaunofficial.exulo.de/index.php
-Visit us on sourceforge http://sourceforge.net/projects/as-fps/
Udi
Member


Cakes 25
Posts: 536


i do my own stunts


WWW
« Reply #77 on: June 25, 2009, 04:47:48 am »

You mean this one? It looks really cool in the menu(no screens here) but in my opinion ingame it looks not so nice.

No, I meant the new logo. I opened a new topic for font related discussion, I think we should continue there before it takes over the suggestions topic Smiley.
Logged

http://udionline.hu/en/projektek/openarena/
Todo list: 1. q3dm17 textures replacement (95% done)
Falkland
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 590


« Reply #78 on: June 26, 2009, 08:25:16 am »

I opened a new topic for font related discussion, I think we should continue there before it takes over the suggestions topic Smiley.

Dunno if it could be related to the fonts topic , but ioquake3 has freetype support ... it needs only to be (re?)added to the Makefile :

Code:
--- Makefile.old 2009-06-25 21:47:55.000000000 +0200
+++ Makefile 2009-06-25 17:33:46.000000000 +0200
@@ -270,6 +270,13 @@
     endif
   endif
 
+### Experimental ###
+  ifeq ($(USE_FREETYPE),1)
+    BASE_CFLAGS += -DBUILD_FREETYPE $(shell freetype-config --cflags)
+    LDFLAGS += -lfreetype $(shell freetype-config --libs)
+  endif
+### END Experimental ###
+
   ifeq ($(USE_CODEC_VORBIS),1)
     BASE_CFLAGS += -DUSE_CODEC_VORBIS
   endif


and then add

Code:
USE_FREETYPE=1

to Makefile.local

EDIT : anyway this should work as it is only on linux , unless installing mingw dev libs before compiling or building freetype libs with msvc
« Last Edit: June 26, 2009, 08:42:16 am by Falkland » Logged
cosmo
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 372


on a dead horse


WWW
« Reply #79 on: June 29, 2009, 01:48:06 am »

Independently by the way choosen , quite all of them can be easily controlled from the point over the mega at the middle floor and it should be not difficult to control the other 2 ways once u hear " The enemy has your flag " and u don't see enemy coming from none of the visible ways. Or at least another rail camper can control the ra way.

On the lg side there's no real ways : or u try to use the jumper to go to the other side or u have to jump lower to try to reach the mega ...

Thanks. Removing/replacing the railgun is an option. I have to tinker with it. Adding more armor shards to have a less deadly railgun might help. CTF is a teamgame. Players need to cooperate if a foe owns them from this spot, don't they?
Logged

- HUNT HIGHSCORES - mapping - xmpp://cosmo@spaceboyz.net
Falkland
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 590


« Reply #80 on: June 29, 2009, 08:12:12 am »

Removing/replacing the railgun is an option. I have to tinker with it. Adding more armor shards to have a less deadly railgun might help. CTF is a teamgame. Players need to cooperate if a foe owns them from this spot, don't they?

2 railguns are enough instead of 4 ( only 3 are usable , the last one doesn't spawn -> "FinishSpawningItem: weapon_railgun startsolid at (-640 416 -144)" )
Logged
cosmo
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 372


on a dead horse


WWW
« Reply #81 on: July 01, 2009, 07:47:08 am »

Yes. When the match begins every player spawns with a railgun. This happens only on the first spawn (to have a little more heat in the beginning). The third railgun is placed only because of this. Going to remove this.
I thought about placing only one railgun at the center plateau where the Neutral Flag in One Flag CTF games is located. The downside: People can control the map more easily when it is too difficult to get another railgun. Reducing ammo slugs in the map might help instead.

Thank you Falkland.
Logged

- HUNT HIGHSCORES - mapping - xmpp://cosmo@spaceboyz.net
schlorri
i lurk the board index every minute!!!!
Lesser Nub


Cakes -51
Posts: 149


WWW
« Reply #82 on: July 02, 2009, 03:17:15 pm »

Before this thread dies ive worked a bit on oax and build say-makros.

Here is an macro-overview:

#H : your health
#A : your armor
#M : your ammo of the current used weapon
#K :  last fragged client
#D : last client who hitted you
#L : your location
#W : the weapon ur using
#P : last collected item

Example:
- Need help at #L ( #H : #A ) -> Need help at blue Base ( 64 : 0 )
- #D is heavily armed ->  a clown is heavily armed
- picked up #P at:   #L -> picked up armor at:   under the bridge     ( this is sago? )
- need #W-ammo ( #M ) -> need RL-ammo ( 1 )


please tell me how do you like it and your ideas !!!


all the best

schlorri

Logged

-Join #aftershock in quakenet
-Visit the statspage http://oaunofficial.exulo.de/index.php
-Visit us on sourceforge http://sourceforge.net/projects/as-fps/
Falkland
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 590


« Reply #83 on: July 02, 2009, 04:22:41 pm »

Before this thread dies

Why should it die ?

ive worked a bit on oax and build say-makros.

Here is an macro-overview:

#H : your health
#A : your armor
#M : your ammo of the current used weapon
#K :  last fragged client
#D : last client who hitted you
#L : your location
#W : the weapon ur using
#P : last collected item

Example:
- Need help at #L ( #H : #A ) -> Need help at blue Base ( 64 : 0 )
- #D is heavily armed ->  a clown is heavily armed
- picked up #P at:   #L -> picked up armor at:   under the bridge     ( this is sago? )
- need #W-ammo ( #M ) -> need RL-ammo ( 1 )


please tell me how do you like it and your ideas !!!


all the best

schlorri


You seem to have lots of knowledge about OSP and OSP-related code ... are u ok to integrate FreezeTag and Corkscrew Modes in the list of gametypes ? Is it anything that can be done ?

EDIT :
- FreezeTag source code : http://www.vgfort.com/dsplus/m.php?p=freeze151bsrc.zip
- Corkscrew source code : http://www.vgfort.com/dsplus/m.php?p=corkscrew216_source.zip

They are both coded against q3 1.29h ....

If the all thing is not do-able , can u update the code to have both mods oax-compliant ?

In particular , corkscrew uses unlagged version 1.0 .... that code should be removed since OA naturally uses Unlagged 2.0 netcode

Lots of works ....
Logged
schlorri
i lurk the board index every minute!!!!
Lesser Nub


Cakes -51
Posts: 149


WWW
« Reply #84 on: July 02, 2009, 05:21:46 pm »

Before this thread dies

Why should it die ?


Many threads died last time :rip:


You seem to have lots of knowledge about OSP and OSP-related code ... are u ok to integrate FreezeTag and Corkscrew Modes in the list of gametypes ? Is it anything that can be done ?


I've never seen the osp-code Sad , it is not gpl is it?
i looked a bit at the FreezeTag-code, this would be a lot of work...and i dont know if this can be done(ah ok...it can be done, but im not good enough Cheesy ). FreezeTag and Corkscrew are not working with the current OA version?(played corkscrew yesterday...but maybe its another release?)

Logged

-Join #aftershock in quakenet
-Visit the statspage http://oaunofficial.exulo.de/index.php
-Visit us on sourceforge http://sourceforge.net/projects/as-fps/
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 61
Posts: 1639


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #85 on: July 02, 2009, 06:47:59 pm »

i looked a bit at the FreezeTag-code, this would be a lot of work..
I have not looked at the code and not player the Q3 variant (I think the only variant I have played was in the playground, the schoolyard and in the water).

But is it much other than replacing dead players with a standing version with a quad-like overlay, ensure that the dead player never gets below minus 100 health and heal 10 hp for each second a teammate is next to him, maybe some spectator fixes and finally a revive function that restores the player.

Just imagine isEliminated means isFrozen and you will have much of the hardest logic needed.
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
chaoticsoldier
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 375


This space intentionally left blank.


« Reply #86 on: July 02, 2009, 08:38:16 pm »

Here is an macro-overview:

#H : your health
#A : your armor
#M : your ammo of the current used weapon
#K :  last fragged client
#D : last client who hitted you
#L : your location
#W : the weapon ur using
#P : last collected item

I've always liked the idea of using these. They can be extremely handy in team games. I'd love it if these were implemented in OA.
Logged

0101100101101111011101010010011101110110011001010010000001101010011101010111001101110100001000000111011101100001011100110111010001100101011001000010000001111001011011110111010101110010001000000111010001101001011011010110010100101110
feidi
Nub


Cakes 13
Posts: 46


WWW
« Reply #87 on: July 03, 2009, 06:28:05 am »

Some remarks about the chat macros. First, thank you very very much for taking the time to do this schlorri!

How about changing #L so that it gives the name of the nearest significant item spawn in this order of preference: flag, powerup, MH, armor, weapon? (I'm assuming it uses the overlay locations at the moment, is this correct?)
Also, does #P exclude armor shards, ammo, and health balls? (hopefully it does..)

I also suggest adding these (more or less derived from CPMA):

#I : nearest significant available item, same as above -flag. (could include nearest dropped weapon too, if this feature will be in next OA)
#N : the name of the nearest team mate
#T : the last client you hit (no killing necessary...)

I'll update this post if anything else comes to mind.
Logged

6lue Rose .:. http://6r-clan.org .:. irc://irc.freenode.net/6r
schlorri
i lurk the board index every minute!!!!
Lesser Nub


Cakes -51
Posts: 149


WWW
« Reply #88 on: July 03, 2009, 07:26:37 am »

Thank you for your help feidi!

Quote
How about changing #L so that it gives the name of the nearest significant item spawn in this order of preference: flag, powerup, MH, armor, weapon? (I'm assuming it uses the overlay locations at the moment, is this correct?)

Ur right, it uses the overlay locations! I think the overlay locations should be renamed to the nearest significant item spawn, this will make it easier(think about the 3 YA in aggressor...its better to rename places to lower YA, mid YA ... then code around Smiley  )

Quote
Also, does #P exclude armor shards, ammo, and health balls? (hopefully it does..)
I've already done this in the current version Smiley (next upload)

Quote
#I : nearest significant available item, same as above -flag. (could include nearest dropped weapon too, if this feature will be in next OA)
#N : the name of the nearest team mate
#T : the last client you hit (no killing necessary...)

I will try to do something like this...also   #E -> shows the number of enemys in your fov would be nice (but this is a bit harder)

schlorri


Logged

-Join #aftershock in quakenet
-Visit the statspage http://oaunofficial.exulo.de/index.php
-Visit us on sourceforge http://sourceforge.net/projects/as-fps/
feidi
Nub


Cakes 13
Posts: 46


WWW
« Reply #89 on: July 03, 2009, 07:55:49 am »

Great! And if you do that #E macro, please also make it include info if one of the enemies carries Quad or flag.
Logged

6lue Rose .:. http://6r-clan.org .:. irc://irc.freenode.net/6r
Falkland
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 590


« Reply #90 on: July 03, 2009, 09:09:13 am »

I've never seen the osp-code Sad , it is not gpl is it?

No it's not GPL ... but how can I say ... u seem to know exactly where to look at when u have to introduce OSP-like features ... lol Smiley

i looked a bit at the FreezeTag-code, this would be a lot of work...and i dont know if this can be done(ah ok...it can be done, but im not good enough Cheesy ).

OSP seems to have FreezeTag mode coded inside ... if not it seems strange that there's a "server_freezetag" cvar

FreezeTag and Corkscrew are not working with the current OA version?(played corkscrew yesterday...but maybe its another release?)

No comment about FreezeTag ( never played on OA ) ... about Corkscrew mod ... it's known to have problems sometimes with OA .... As I stated before , Corkscrew is coded around q3 1.29h ( code and maybe some gamelogic parts are a bit different than OAX or at least than OA081 gamelogic ) and it uses Unlagged 1.0 ... once upon a time at RN there was a modified version that used unlagged 2.0 ( the pk3 was named corkscrew216UL2.pk3 or something like that ) but also that one was not so lucky.

If corkscrew specific changes could be coded around OAX , all the problems should be avoided.
Logged
schlorri
i lurk the board index every minute!!!!
Lesser Nub


Cakes -51
Posts: 149


WWW
« Reply #91 on: July 05, 2009, 11:43:02 am »

Can someone confirm: there is Kamikaze on ctf4ish with the current oax-version? Bug?
Logged

-Join #aftershock in quakenet
-Visit the statspage http://oaunofficial.exulo.de/index.php
-Visit us on sourceforge http://sourceforge.net/projects/as-fps/
sago007
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 61
Posts: 1639


Open Arena Developer


WWW
« Reply #92 on: July 05, 2009, 12:04:58 pm »

Can someone confirm: there is Kamikaze on ctf4ish with the current oax-version? Bug?
There is Kamikaze on ctf4ish. I though it was only used on bases3 but apparently I am wrong. There is a Guard in the map too.
Logged

There are nothing offending in my posts.
Falkland
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 590


« Reply #93 on: July 05, 2009, 12:13:16 pm »

Confirmed .... another sign that this map seems too much close to the original q3ctf4 to think that is only a -ish version.

EDIT : I meant ... confimed that kamikaze spanws in baseoa ... and then that because of its and also Guard presence  ... etc etc etc
« Last Edit: July 05, 2009, 12:29:42 pm by Falkland » Logged
schlorri
i lurk the board index every minute!!!!
Lesser Nub


Cakes -51
Posts: 149


WWW
« Reply #94 on: July 06, 2009, 07:56:55 am »

Updated say_macros Smiley :

#A : Armor
#C : Item in crosshair (dropped possible, must be visible)
#D : Last attacker
#E : enemies on screen, Quad, Flag, Battlesuit, Regen (outout will be : FLAGCARRIER + 0enemies -> you can see the FLAGCARRIER| QUAD + 2 enemies -> you can see QUAD-enemy + 2 enemies)
#F : return "FLAGCARRIER" if you have the flag otherwise "" -> #F need help at #L (#H | #A) -> FLAGCARRIER need help at Blue Base (20 | 0 )
#H : Health
#I : Next item-spawnplace
#K : last client you killed
#L : your location
#M : Ammunition of your current weapon
#N : The teammate next to you
#P : last pickup (without ammo , healthbubbles<MEGA ,armorshards)
#S : Location you are looking at -> #S clear -> Red Rail clear
#T : last client you wounded
#W : current used weapon


PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE TEST IT!!! Smiley




Logged

-Join #aftershock in quakenet
-Visit the statspage http://oaunofficial.exulo.de/index.php
-Visit us on sourceforge http://sourceforge.net/projects/as-fps/
feidi
Nub


Cakes 13
Posts: 46


WWW
« Reply #95 on: July 06, 2009, 05:23:20 pm »

So I did a bit of testing with the tokens and here're the bugs I found at first. I can do more testing later to see if there's more.

#C - how about this excluding healthballs (25) & shards? Also would be nice to have an option for shortening the names (all at once), e.g. "Lightning gun" to "LG" and the ammo "Lightning" would become "LG Ammo", same with the rest. Also "Armor" could be "Yellow Armor" with option for "YA" and "Heavy Armor" to "Red Armor" and option for "RA".

#D - this doesn't carry through if you die, which would be very important. Also if I RJ then the last attacker becomes myself which is not good (even if it's true...), same with falling to ground the attacker becomes "G.".

#E - for this if there's no one in the screen could the script just return an empty string rather than "0 enemies". Also "1 enemy" rather than "1 enemies", and plural for the rest?

#I - same stuff with the names as with #C.

#T - this returns #T if there's no target, should be empty string? also same issue as with #D, doesn't carry through dying.

That's it for now Smiley
Logged

6lue Rose .:. http://6r-clan.org .:. irc://irc.freenode.net/6r
schlorri
i lurk the board index every minute!!!!
Lesser Nub


Cakes -51
Posts: 149


WWW
« Reply #96 on: July 06, 2009, 08:31:19 pm »

So I did a bit of testing with the tokens and here're the bugs I found at first. I can do more testing later to see if there's more.

#C - how about this excluding healthballs (25) & shards? Also would be nice to have an option for shortening the names (all at once), e.g. "Lightning gun" to "LG" and the ammo "Lightning" would become "LG Ammo", same with the rest. Also "Armor" could be "Yellow Armor" with option for "YA" and "Heavy Armor" to "Red Armor" and option for "RA".

#D - this doesn't carry through if you die, which would be very important. Also if I RJ then the last attacker becomes myself which is not good (even if it's true...), same with falling to ground the attacker becomes "G.".

#E - for this if there's no one in the screen could the script just return an empty string rather than "0 enemies". Also "1 enemy" rather than "1 enemies", and plural for the rest?

#I - same stuff with the names as with #C.

#T - this returns #T if there's no target, should be empty string? also same issue as with #D, doesn't carry through dying.

That's it for now Smiley

Thanks a lot for your testing !!!

#C : i want to keep these 25Health bubbles and so on ... but we can talk about that
I dont want to build an option for short-itemnames, the macros will be replaced serverside -> this would be really ugly !!! I made all the names short, i hope it is ok Smiley

Changes:

-Short-Itemnames (colored)
-fixed the carry-through-dying bug
-colored #A and #H value
-removed enemymessage if 0 enemies on screen (#E)
-colored Weaponnames

i hope someone will test this version, too Smiley
Logged

-Join #aftershock in quakenet
-Visit the statspage http://oaunofficial.exulo.de/index.php
-Visit us on sourceforge http://sourceforge.net/projects/as-fps/
chaoticsoldier
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 375


This space intentionally left blank.


« Reply #97 on: July 07, 2009, 08:54:25 am »

I tested these and they're great! The name shortening is a good thing.

Some issues:
- I don't agree with the removal of the "0 enemies" message though. I think that maybe it could be useful if teammates are helping you scout for the safest way to take the flag out of the enemy base or something.
- Gauntlet ammo is expressed as -1. Would it be better to make it say 0?


* I was testing the #E macro while playing TDM in aggressor and while looking at the area around where the plasma gun spawns (and around the stairs near the plasma gun), it said: FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER
When I restarted the map it didn't do it again. I'll try to reproduce this error, but so far it has not happened again on any map.
Logged

0101100101101111011101010010011101110110011001010010000001101010011101010111001101110100001000000111011101100001011100110111010001100101011001000010000001111001011011110111010101110010001000000111010001101001011011010110010100101110
schlorri
i lurk the board index every minute!!!!
Lesser Nub


Cakes -51
Posts: 149


WWW
« Reply #98 on: July 07, 2009, 09:32:20 am »

I tested these and they're great! The name shortening is a good thing.

Some issues:
- I don't agree with the removal of the "0 enemies" message though. I think that maybe it could be useful if teammates are helping you scout for the safest way to take the flag out of the enemy base or something.
- Gauntlet ammo is expressed as -1. Would it be better to make it say 0?


* I was testing the #E macro while playing TDM in aggressor and while looking at the area around where the plasma gun spawns (and around the stairs near the plasma gun), it said: FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER
When I restarted the map it didn't do it again. I'll try to reproduce this error, but so far it has not happened again on any map.

Hmmm...i was not able to reproduce this error, but i created a securityfix Tongue ... so i hope this will not happen again!

-Fixed the Gauntletammo ( i think Grap would be the same ... also fixed )
-The 0 enemies: i agree with chaoticsoldier. But we can talk about this too Smiley -> added the 0 ENEMIES message again (in cool GREEN!)
-Added a hitsoundfeature, nothing to do with chat-macros. Do you think there is an audience for that?

thanks for testing!

schlorri

Logged

-Join #aftershock in quakenet
-Visit the statspage http://oaunofficial.exulo.de/index.php
-Visit us on sourceforge http://sourceforge.net/projects/as-fps/
chaoticsoldier
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 375


This space intentionally left blank.


« Reply #99 on: July 07, 2009, 09:47:31 am »

I was able to reproduce the error. It happens in more than one place as well.  This is what it shows every time:

Quote
Com_sprintf: overflow of 164 in 150
chaoticsldier: FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER + FLAGCARRIER

EDIT: I'm still using the same version as before, not the one you just edited Smiley.
Logged

0101100101101111011101010010011101110110011001010010000001101010011101010111001101110100001000000111011101100001011100110111010001100101011001000010000001111001011011110111010101110010001000000111010001101001011011010110010100101110
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 9
  Print  
 
Jump to: