Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: abused openarena.info  (Read 17498 times)
abused
Nub


Cakes -17
Posts: 38



« on: October 30, 2010, 04:50:50 PM »

(\_/)
(> <)
(..),,) this may, to your advantage..
          not be what you think it is.


nicknames:

abused, idclip or unnamedplayer


what i play:

hosts using rail+insta-mode or excessive.
ROFL all rockets + anything but pure oa.
(all of course thanks to oa being here.)


free advice on makin a ctf gg:

strive for even teams + speed
= creates high impact events.


things one should learn:

- defrag (enough said)


players i respect:

assrape, c, integer


clans i respect:

none.


banned on:

3W, GoD


useful console:

/cg_fov
/com_maxfps
/cg_railtracetime
/bind q say
/bind z say
/bind x kill
/cg_chatbeep
/cg_draw2d
/map ps37ctf
/callvote g_speed
/callvote g_gravity


how to:

- add rotoscoping to open arena in linux?
- replace sounds of oa with original idq3?


links:

http://quake3tweaks.tripod.com/commands.html
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-T6IAHWMd2I
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9zMo9-zchQ


otherwise:

cats, codin c:\> _ and playing ps3..

« Last Edit: October 30, 2010, 05:28:45 PM by abused » Logged
Graion Dilach
Member


Cakes 12
Posts: 403



« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2010, 05:01:30 PM »

how to:

- add rotoscoping to open arena in linux?
- replace sounds of oa with original idq3?


The first isn't possible, since Q3/OA animations would be huge if they'd use rotoscope. Also, there isn't any motion capturing technique behind OA. And I think it'd end with a slowdown if the animation.cfg would use that many frames.

The second is possible although I don't like the idea.
Logged

One shall remind what have he left behind... to actually realize that it's still cool.
abused
Nub


Cakes -17
Posts: 38



« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2010, 05:14:45 PM »

you may admit its is a legitimate idea if you own the original q3.
to be honest i would also like the original model for machinegun.
Logged
Graion Dilach
Member


Cakes 12
Posts: 403



« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2010, 05:17:54 PM »

If you own it... well this change the whole situation.

Copy pak0.pk3/sounds to a new pk3 starting with a letter after p. You should know that pk3 are simple zips, and that's all.

Although I'd drop out the player sounds for obvious reasons.  Wink

EDIT: Models/weapons... but I'm not pretty sure. I didn't tested this. I do know that the sounds will work, but the MG...
Logged

One shall remind what have he left behind... to actually realize that it's still cool.
abused
Nub


Cakes -17
Posts: 38



« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2010, 05:23:24 PM »

some mods lets u have it, but a simple file-switch would be nice.
regardless of sound it sure looks alot better than the oa version.
Logged
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 45
Posts: 4378


WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2010, 05:44:01 PM »

/cg_chatbeep
This cvar does not seem to exist, at least in the baseoa...
Quote
/callvote g_speed
/callvote g_gravity
Uh? Is it possible to callvote for them without using custom votes? :-/
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
abused
Nub


Cakes -17
Posts: 38



« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2010, 06:19:01 PM »

get the feeling you already know the answers to your questions..
its cg_chatsound, right? and regarding the voting, it is possible.
why admins choose to restrict their servers is not rly clear to me.
im sure some smart admin can tell me but really its not relevant.
this is irony letting admins know they should keep options open.

« Last Edit: October 30, 2010, 06:31:58 PM by abused » Logged
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3763


Trickster God.


« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2010, 06:43:28 PM »

IDQ3 sounds are copyrighted by Id, thus there's no way for them to come in OA's official packages, both for license and copyright infringement.

EDIT: It count as well for the Q3 original models.
Logged


"Detailed" is nice, but if it gets in the way of clarity, it ceases being a nice addition and becomes a problem. - TVT
Want to contribute? Read this.
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 45
Posts: 4378


WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2010, 07:02:13 PM »

get the feeling you already know the answers to your questions..
Uh? :-/
Quote
its cg_chatsound, right?
I don't know if there is a cvar for that (that should disable the small "beep" when someone sends a message, right?)... cg_chatsound seems to not exist as well.
Quote
and regarding the voting, it is possible.
I tried to add g_speed and g_gravity at the end of my g_voteNames cvar, but if I try to call a vote for them, it still says that they are not valid.

A thing I don't understand is why it has not been implemented a callvote to change the capturelimit.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2010, 08:07:41 PM by Gig » Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
abused
Nub


Cakes -17
Posts: 38



« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2010, 08:04:24 PM »

easy, because you should set it to zero, meaning no limit =)
Logged
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1427


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #10 on: October 31, 2010, 03:30:56 AM »

@Graion, it seems like rotoscoping has been implemented in ioquake3 (check the video abused left in link). Though this patch may have not found its way into the main tree. I think I found it here, though it is very likely it won't come into standard OA and so you have to apply the patch yourself if you want to test.

@abused
Quote
what i play:
anything but pure oa.

That could explain why you think there are options like /callvote g_speed or /cg_chatbeep in standard OA, but there isn't and AFAIK there wasn't either in standard Q3. There probably is in excessive or in noghost and others mods.

I think an option to disable chatbeep in OA could be nice, in particular because the current sound is a bit loud and can be annoying.

1000th post ... Cheesy
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
Udi
Member


Cakes 25
Posts: 536


i do my own stunts


WWW
« Reply #11 on: October 31, 2010, 04:35:48 AM »

1000th post ... Cheesy

Nice, next stop: 50 cakes Smiley.
Logged

http://udionline.hu/en/projektek/openarena/
Todo list: 1. q3dm17 textures replacement (95% done)
St0n3*r
Half-Nub


Cakes 6
Posts: 82

Welcome in the ★revolution world :P


WWW
« Reply #12 on: October 31, 2010, 04:25:45 PM »

players i respect:
assrape, c, integer

Wow you respect 3 players out the community, awesome!!! Grin
Logged

chaoticsoldier
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 375


This space intentionally left blank.


« Reply #13 on: November 01, 2010, 02:20:17 AM »

in particular because the current sound is a bit loud and can be annoying.
I love it. I even made it the message beep for my IRC client.  Smiley
Logged

0101100101101111011101010010011101110110011001010010000001101010011101010111001101110100001000000111011101100001011100110111010001100101011001000010000001111001011011110111010101110010001000000111010001101001011011010110010100101110
Falkland
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 590


« Reply #14 on: November 05, 2010, 10:12:13 AM »

/cg_chatbeep

This is not available in baseoa , but OSP , CPMA , E+ and UltraFreeze mods have it ... very useful to quit the chat beep

I guess some mods can also change the default sound through cg_chatsound cvar
Logged
abused
Nub


Cakes -17
Posts: 38



« Reply #15 on: November 08, 2010, 12:59:05 PM »

ok.. so how about removing the soundfile.. ? or replacing it with a "silent" wav-file?
replacing it is probably the best - so what is the name and location of that file?

Logged
Cacatoes
Banned for leasing own account
Posts a lot
*

Cakes 73
Posts: 1427


also banned for baiting another to violate rules


« Reply #16 on: November 08, 2010, 03:16:27 PM »

Check inside OA pk3s, you'll probably find it in some sounds\ directory.
You could create another PK3 which replaces the default sound, though that would only work on unpure servers.
Do not edit OA pk3s because it will corrupt your PK3 and you won't be able to join pure servers anymore.
Note: pk3s are just .zip files which were renamed.
Logged

Todo: Walk the cat.
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14517



WWW
« Reply #17 on: December 27, 2010, 09:59:45 PM »

The first isn't possible, since Q3/OA animations would be huge if they'd use rotoscope.
What he really means is that lame GLSL postprocessing effect that downbits the screen and sticks ugly black outlines everywhere. There was a rotoscope OA 0.7.1 test binary a LONG TIME AGO and it looked freaking ugly. It made polygons appear even MORE faceted!

It's an ugly hack novelty that lasts so short.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
Falkland
Member


Cakes 6
Posts: 590


« Reply #18 on: December 28, 2010, 11:36:20 AM »

What he really means is that lame GLSL postprocessing effect that downbits the screen and sticks ugly black outlines everywhere. There was a rotoscope OA 0.7.1 test binary a LONG TIME AGO and it looked freaking ugly. It made polygons appear even MORE faceted!

It's an ugly hack novelty that lasts so short.

The patch was updated : maybe it looked ugly in Openarena but now it gives a nice and appreciated "old cartoon effect" to other games like Smokin' Guns : http://openarena.ws/board/index.php?&topic=4012.msg36725#msg36725
Logged
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14517



WWW
« Reply #19 on: December 28, 2010, 01:34:37 PM »

I disagree, I still think rotoscoping is ugly. There's weird pink and green color drifting in it

A better way to cartoon things would to be to take advantage of normals and light to determine outlines and ambient shading. The engine can't do normal mapping or phong shading to begin with though, but I did something like this in Darkplaces while figuring out this GLSL thing. The advantage of this method is that you still have your full color range and you can go into dark areas without a sudden drop in intensity. The disadvantage of it is that it's worse on lower poly stuff or anything without much normals precision - it'll lead to thicker outlines. The best part is the fact the outlines don't add to everything and get in the way and all that -  they're variable width!
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 45
Posts: 4378


WWW
« Reply #20 on: December 28, 2010, 02:17:43 PM »

Is someone interested into trying the old cell shading patch for Q3A?
http://q3cellshading.sourceforge.net/

And it seems GPLv2... (obviously, OpenArena should not turn to Cell shading, but maybe as an additional option it could be nice).
« Last Edit: December 28, 2010, 03:51:46 PM by Gig » Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 35
Posts: 14517



WWW
« Reply #21 on: December 28, 2010, 02:27:22 PM »


NO

Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
chaoticsoldier
Member


Cakes 18
Posts: 375


This space intentionally left blank.


« Reply #22 on: December 28, 2010, 06:08:46 PM »

I think that means no.

---
I'm not going anywhere near 'cel-shading' or the popularily misspelled "cell shading" and i'm not rotoscoping either.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2010, 06:30:18 PM by chaoticsoldier » Logged

0101100101101111011101010010011101110110011001010010000001101010011101010111001101110100001000000111011101100001011100110111010001100101011001000010000001111001011011110111010101110010001000000111010001101001011011010110010100101110
Proti
Nub


Cakes -21
Posts: 16


HAHAHA I BLANKED MY POSTS. TAKE THAT INTERNET


« Reply #23 on: December 28, 2010, 08:17:17 PM »

---PEACEFULLY CENSORED---
« Last Edit: April 09, 2011, 04:46:18 PM by Proti » Logged

THERE WAS A REFERRAL LINK HERE.
abused
Nub


Cakes -17
Posts: 38



« Reply #24 on: December 29, 2010, 02:20:07 PM »

quake live has this rly nice post processing.. oa hasnt.
im talking about filters/options here, not static changes.
so what about real time motion blur or sum other effect?

Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to: