Poll
Question: Common map naming for OACMP (map dm1/ctf1 as example) [ends 20/12]
oacmpdm01/oacmpctf01 - 2 (28.6%)
oacmpdm001/oacmpctf001 - 0 (0%)
oacmpdm1/oacmpctf1 - 4 (57.1%)
oacmp1dm01/oacmp1ctf01 - 0 (0%)
oacmp01dm01/oacmp01ctf01 - 0 (0%)
Other option (elaborate or your vote won't count) - 1 (14.3%)
Total Voters: 7

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 62
  Print  
Author Topic: [REL] OpenArena Community Mappack - Volume 1 - FINAL  (Read 488005 times)
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3657


Trickster God.


« Reply #75 on: December 28, 2012, 06:13:46 am »

Well, mappacks need some kind of logo, for presentation reasons.

Some examples:

http://cbp.beyondunreal.com/legacy
http://ucmappack.org/pages/down.htm
Logged


"Level Designers are 1 part architect, 1 part artist, 1 part game designer, and 1 part beta tester!" Cliff Bleszinski
Want to contribute? Read this.
Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 48
Posts: 4237


WWW
« Reply #76 on: December 28, 2012, 07:18:26 am »

In this case, I suppose a map from the pack would be better for the background...
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3657


Trickster God.


« Reply #77 on: December 28, 2012, 07:47:46 am »

Or many of them. Tongue
Logged


"Level Designers are 1 part architect, 1 part artist, 1 part game designer, and 1 part beta tester!" Cliff Bleszinski
Want to contribute? Read this.
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #78 on: December 28, 2012, 10:52:53 am »

By the way, consider that, due to inclusion of third-party copyrighted material (in the background), I suppose it will not be possible to put that banner into the actual map pack download package. Not that it would be useful to include it, but just to specify.

Ok, i've made one more from MY map.

Now it is good and i will use for MY map(s).
If you (mappers) want to use it, do it for free.
All my jobs are free. Tongue

EDIT:

I hope that the "inventor" of the red and the blue color has nothing to argue about them.
I'm sorry but i'm noob about OA and GPL stuff Tongue

Wink
« Last Edit: March 30, 2013, 01:06:36 pm by Akom74 » Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



Gig
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 48
Posts: 4237


WWW
« Reply #79 on: December 28, 2012, 11:23:21 am »

I'm sorry but i'm noob about OA and GPL stuff Tongue
Ok, good.  Smiley
I guess you used a program like Photoshop or similar, which uses its own format (e.g. .psd for Photoshop) to manage multiple layers, and then exported into jpg. In case such "source" exists, don't delete it. If you want to include the .jpg file into the GPL package, you should provide the .psd (or .xcf, or else) file, considering it's a multi-layer image.

PS: What's about writing "OpenArena" instead of "Openarena"?
Logged

I never want to be aggressive, offensive or ironic with my posts. If you find something offending in my posts, read them again searching for a different mood there. If you still see something bad with them, please ask me infos. I can be wrong at times, but I never want to upset anyone.
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #80 on: December 28, 2012, 11:36:07 am »

I'm sorry but i'm noob about OA and GPL stuff Tongue
Ok, good.  Smiley
I guess you used a program like Photoshop or similar, which uses its own format (e.g. .psd for Photoshop) to manage multiple layers, and then exported into jpg. In case such "source" exists, don't delete it. If you want to include the .jpg file into the GPL package, you should provide the .psd (or .xcf, or else) file, considering it's a multi-layer image.

PS: What's about writing "OpenArena" instead of "Openarena"?

Err, not really Tongue

I'm using Ulead IPhoto Plus 4 and made every banner from a blank flie every time.....XD....

Oops, i'm sorry. I will use OpenArena for the banners (and make all new) Cheesy Cheesy

EDIT: I've rebuild all the three banners.

Wink
« Last Edit: December 28, 2012, 11:49:10 am by Akom74 » Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3657


Trickster God.


« Reply #81 on: December 28, 2012, 11:42:57 am »

Basically, in order for a software to be classified as Free Software and in order to be licensed under GPL, it must follow 4 freedoms:
- to use the software with any purpose
- to study how the software works and to change it to fit the needs; access to the source is a must for this
- to redistribute the unchanged software
- to redistribute their modified copies of the software to others; access to the source is a must for this

EDIT: Further read:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GNU_General_Public_License
« Last Edit: December 28, 2012, 12:05:29 pm by Neon_Knight » Logged


"Level Designers are 1 part architect, 1 part artist, 1 part game designer, and 1 part beta tester!" Cliff Bleszinski
Want to contribute? Read this.
fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 31
Posts: 14479



WWW
« Reply #82 on: December 28, 2012, 12:33:25 pm »

I should probably make the banner in Blender. I haven't played with the rendering options much

I'm sure I still have the OA logo blend somewhere (the one I used to render). 
 
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #83 on: December 28, 2012, 02:02:43 pm »

Hi all of you  Grin

Can't wait to see your jobs Tongue in the meanwhile i have uploaded a new version of my DM map.

The download link is the same posted before, but i repeat here:
Code:
https://www.box.com/s/u5kkxjkd18lolltqkrkq

Updates:

1) Added new light textures, made on my own little hands  Tongue
1a) To make the lights work i have created a new script file.
2) New sound (growl laugh) when you are near of the cage.
3) Now the map have the music !! Cheesy
4) Deleted the Evillair weapon spawn point and breaked the polygons, see in the map what i mean Tongue

EDIT: The new sound (growl laugh) is made from myself voice modified with "sound recorder" of WinXP Tongue
EDIT2: I've forgotten a couple of textures Tongue ..... but now i have uploaded the updated version, download it (if you want) and tell me.

 Wink
« Last Edit: March 30, 2013, 01:08:44 pm by Akom74 » Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 31
Posts: 14479



WWW
« Reply #84 on: December 28, 2012, 03:32:24 pm »

Some flares on those lights would be good to soften up their appearance.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #85 on: December 29, 2012, 08:12:48 am »

Some flares on those lights would be good to soften up their appearance.

I'm not sure what do you mean Tongue
Maybe the ring of the light is too big ? Or too lighter ?

Can you give a screenshot ?

Wink
Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3657


Trickster God.


« Reply #86 on: December 29, 2012, 10:06:55 am »

Compile the map with -flares on the BSP stage to see what fromhell means. Tongue
Logged


"Level Designers are 1 part architect, 1 part artist, 1 part game designer, and 1 part beta tester!" Cliff Bleszinski
Want to contribute? Read this.
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #87 on: December 29, 2012, 10:39:53 am »

Compile the map with -flares on the BSP stage to see what fromhell means. Tongue

Oops, it give me an error: ERROR unknow option "-flares" ..... why ??  Huh

....
Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3657


Trickster God.


« Reply #88 on: December 29, 2012, 10:59:38 am »

Strange, I use it all the time. In fact, here's my common build options:

- BSP stage: -flares -meta -patchmeta -v -verboseentities
- VIS stage: -v
- Light stage: -dark -fast -filter -patchshadows -dirty -bounce 8 -samples 3 -gamma 1 -v
- BSPC: -forcesidesvisible -optimize

Which editor/compiler are you using? GTKRadiant 1.4, 1.5, NetRadiant 1.6, QuArK?
Logged


"Level Designers are 1 part architect, 1 part artist, 1 part game designer, and 1 part beta tester!" Cliff Bleszinski
Want to contribute? Read this.
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #89 on: December 29, 2012, 11:21:02 am »

Strange, I use it all the time. In fact, here's my common build options:

- BSP stage: -flares -meta -patchmeta -v -verboseentities
- VIS stage: -v
- Light stage: -dark -fast -filter -patchshadows -dirty -bounce 8 -samples 3 -gamma 1 -v
- BSPC: -forcesidesvisible -optimize

Which editor/compiler are you using? GTKRadiant 1.4, 1.5, NetRadiant 1.6, QuArK?

Normallt i use Q3Radiant202 to build and compile my maps.
To use other command like the "-flares" i have to use a newest editor.
GTKradiant 1.6 gives me an error of MAX_VISIBILITY_EXCEDEED and i try with the command line in a file .BAT with q3map2 but it won't work.....  Sad Huh

If you can show me in a screenshot what i have to do i'm happy Tongue

Maybe i can edit the .shader to modify the flares effect ? But i don't know how...

Wink
Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3657


Trickster God.


« Reply #90 on: December 29, 2012, 12:03:30 pm »

Flares can only be applied in compilation.

Have you tried NetRadiant? Also q3map2build as a frontend GUI for building.
Logged


"Level Designers are 1 part architect, 1 part artist, 1 part game designer, and 1 part beta tester!" Cliff Bleszinski
Want to contribute? Read this.
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #91 on: December 29, 2012, 12:17:54 pm »

Flares can only be applied in compilation.

Have you tried NetRadiant? Also q3map2build as a frontend GUI for building.

Thank you, i will try NETradiant.

In the same time i have solved the problem with the compiler (by command line). There was my mistake Tongue

Here the commands i have used:

q3map.exe C:/Quake3/baseq3/maps/oa_akomdm1.map
q3map.exe -flares -vis -fast C:/Quake3/baseq3/maps/oa_akomdm1.map
q3map.exe -light C:/Quake3/baseq3/maps/oa_akomdm1.map

It work well and here is the screenshot of the re-compiled map:

Unfortunately i can't see any flare effect....... i'm blind ? Tongue

Wink
« Last Edit: March 30, 2013, 01:09:17 pm by Akom74 » Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3657


Trickster God.


« Reply #92 on: December 29, 2012, 12:28:36 pm »

Here's an example of a flare:



See the columns?

Perhaps the combo of map/compiler you're using doesn't support them. Flares were introduced in some revisions of the Quake III Engine which includes ioQuake3. OA runs in ioQuake3.
Logged


"Level Designers are 1 part architect, 1 part artist, 1 part game designer, and 1 part beta tester!" Cliff Bleszinski
Want to contribute? Read this.
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #93 on: December 29, 2012, 01:37:41 pm »

NETRadiant unfortunately don't work, and i have to configure it Tongue

I'm trying with q3map2build that seems better and more configurable.
I have configure it with your suggested values.

Soon i'll give you a shoot if it work.

Wink
Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



fromhell
Administrator
GET A LIFE!
**********

Cakes 31
Posts: 14479



WWW
« Reply #94 on: December 29, 2012, 01:49:43 pm »

Shaders would require the q3map_flare key iirc, like

Code:
texture/somelights/light_356
{
            q3map_flare flareShader
           {
               map textures/somelights/bonk.pcx


Note that the name of the flare shader is loaded but never actually used by the renderer, since it always uses flareShader.


BTW flares were part of Q3A from the 1.03 versions, and they were regressed in 1.08. Vanilla q3map should compile flares fine.
Logged

asking when OA3 will be done won't get OA3 done.
Progress of OA3 currently occurs behind closed doors alone

I do not provide technical support either.

new code development on github
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #95 on: December 29, 2012, 02:07:50 pm »

Finally it work !!  Grin

But as you can see from the screenshot, now it's more dark than before, and there is no flare....
Maybe i have to make an appropriate texture ?

I'm thinking that with flare it will be more cool.

EDIT: @fromhell: can you give me the shader for build the map with flares ?  Tongue

Wink
« Last Edit: March 30, 2013, 01:09:36 pm by Akom74 » Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #96 on: December 30, 2012, 12:46:12 pm »

Hi all  Grin

I have completed the map, unfortunately without flares glow or bloom effect.
I try more script and search in the internet but found nothing of usefull.

Updates:

1) Added some lights.
2) Modified the "moixie" banner.
3) Changed the noise from the cage.
4) Other minor stuff.

Here is the Download link:
Code:
https://www.box.com/s/u5kkxjkd18lolltqkrkq

 Cool

EDIT: For the record, i'm working to another map Tongue
EDIT2: Happy New Year to all of you !!!  Grin Grin
« Last Edit: March 30, 2013, 01:10:01 pm by Akom74 » Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3657


Trickster God.


« Reply #97 on: January 01, 2013, 12:28:39 pm »

Thanks, the same I say. Tongue

I've figured out that I've promised to show my work last week, and haven't done so. I was a bit busy trying to get many maps for OA uploaded to MapRaider, I had 10 or so waiting to be confirmed.

So, I'll dedicate this week to my OACMP work.
Logged


"Level Designers are 1 part architect, 1 part artist, 1 part game designer, and 1 part beta tester!" Cliff Bleszinski
Want to contribute? Read this.
Akom74
Member


Cakes 9
Posts: 906


Q3A/OA Mapper


WWW
« Reply #98 on: January 01, 2013, 01:29:16 pm »

@Neon_Knight: Don't worry, it's a wrong period to try to do something.....

Anyway, the last night some alchool make me drunk and this morning i've done this
Akom7 conversion/adaptation for this mappack.

P.S.: I've posted another map to mapraider Tongue
P.P.S.: Can i make a banner with the word "Frag Bastard" or "Neon_Knight is in Action" ? Tongue  Grin
« Last Edit: March 30, 2013, 01:10:20 pm by Akom74 » Logged

...sorry for my English, i'm Italian... Tongue



Neon_Knight
In the year 3000
***

Cakes 49
Posts: 3657


Trickster God.


« Reply #99 on: January 01, 2013, 02:43:07 pm »

Do it. Easter eggs are always welcome. Tongue

I might sneak one or two in my maps. I love them.

First screenshot of my CTF map. Bioxide. It's set in some kind of laboratory/water treatment facility. I've finished the structure in November, but I'm starting with the texturization now.
Logged


"Level Designers are 1 part architect, 1 part artist, 1 part game designer, and 1 part beta tester!" Cliff Bleszinski
Want to contribute? Read this.
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 62
  Print  
 
Jump to: